New Zealand

New Zealand

New Zealand

New Zealand is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean.

It comprises 2 main landmasses.

As in the North Island and the South Island and around 600 smaller islands, covering a total area of 268,021 square kilometres (103,500 sq mi).

New Zealand is about 2,000 kilometres east of Australia across the Tasman Sea and 1,000 kilometres (600 mi) south of the islands of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga.

The country’s varied topography and sharp mountain peaks, including the Southern Alps, owe much to tectonic uplift and volcanic eruptions.

New Zealand’s capital city is Wellington, and its most populous city is Auckland.

1. Auckland

New Zealand

Auckland lies between the Hauraki Gulf to the east, then extending in Hunua Ranges to the south-east, the Manukau Harbour to the south-west, and the Waitākere Ranges and smaller ranges to the west and north-west.

The surrounding hills are covered in rainforest and the landscape is dotted with 53 dormant volcanic cones.

The central part of the urban area occupies a narrow isthmus between the Manukau Harbour on the Tasman Sea and the Waitematā Harbour on the Pacific Ocean.

Auckland is one of the few cities in the world to have a harbour on each of 2 separate major bodies of water.

2. Christchurch


Christchurch is the largest city in the South Island of New Zealand and the seat of the Canterbury Region.

The Christchurch urban area lies on the South Island’s east coast, just north of Banks Peninsula.

The urban area is home to 377,200 residents and the territorial authority has 385,500 people.

Which makes it the second-most populous city in New Zealand after Auckland and before Wellington.

The Avon River flows through the centre of the city, with an urban park located along its banks.

3. Queenstown


Queenstown is a resort town in Otago in the south-west of New Zealand’s South Island.

It has an urban population of 15,650 (June 2019),[3] making it the 27th-largest urban area in New Zealand.

In 2016, Queenstown overtook Oamaru to become the second-largest urban area in Otago, behind Dunedin.

The town is built around an inlet called Queenstown Bay on Lake Wakatipu.

A long, thin, Z-shaped lake formed by glacial processes, and has views of nearby mountains.

Such as The Remarkables, Cecil Peak, Walter Peak and just above the town, Ben Lomond and Queenstown Hill.



Rotorua is a city on the southern shores of Lake Rotorua from which the city takes its name, located in the Bay of Plenty Region of New Zealand’s North Island.

It is the seat of the Rotorua District, a territorial authority encompassing Rotorua and several other nearby towns.

The majority of the Rotorua District is in the Bay of Plenty Region, but a sizeable southern section and a small western section are in the Waikato region.

Rotorua is in the heart of the North Island, 60 kilometres south of Tauranga, 80 km southeast of the nation’s most populous city, Auckland.

5. Wellington


Wellington is the capital city of New Zealand.

It is located at the south-western tip of the North Island, between Cook Strait and the Remutaka Range.

Wellington is the major population centre of the southern North Island, and is the administrative centre of the Wellington Region.

Which also includes the Kapiti Coast and the Wairarapa.

It is the world’s southernmost capital of a sovereign state.

Wellington features a temperate maritime climate and is the world’s windiest city by average wind speed.

Hotels Combined Review